Asian Le Mans Series: Porsche 911 GT3 R wins GT Class two times!

They came, they drove, they won. The motorsports season in the Asian Le Man Series 2021 has already begun in the United Arab Emirates where the two 4h races continued almost exactly as prefigured in the qualifying section on Friday. The GT Class victory in the first race was secured by the Bavarian Porsche Customer Team Precote Herberth Motorsport.

Many racecars are homologated with the KW Competition motorsport shocks

The black Porsche 911 GT3 R #99 started into the first race at the Dubai Autodrome from Pole Position. In the heat of the race, the Porsche 911 GT3 R homologated with a KW Competition TTSP (TwinTube Solid Piston) racing suspension was initially relegated to third place in class.

During each stint, the driver trio of Julien Andlauer and the twin brothers Alfred and Robert Renauer made up ground. After 117 laps, the trio crossed the finish line in first place in their class with their Porsche 911 GT3 R (#99) ahead of Inception Racing’s McLaren 720S GT3 and the Walkenhorst Motorsport BMW M6 GT3.

Things really got rough in the GT class in the second race last Sunday. Because of an accident in which the Precote Herberth Motorsport 911 GT3 #99 was hit by the Oman Racing Aston Martin Vantage AMR GT3, the 911 dropped back to fifth place.

After the Formula Racing Ferrari 488 GT3 and Walkenhorst’s BMW M6 GT3 clashed, a yellow period followed, and the Ferrari received a 60-second drive-through penalty. The initiative was then taken by the GPX Racing (GP Extreme Racing) Porsche team.

While the local heroes (winner of the 24h Race Dubai 2021) in their number 40 Porsche 911 GT3 R were unlucky fourth in class in the first race, the Dubai-based Porsche customer sports team finished as class winners after 115 laps.

In opposition, the second Precote Huberth Motorsport Porsche 911 with starting number 93 was plagued by bad luck over the entire weekend. On Saturday’s race, the #93 finished in 14th place and on Sunday in 9th.

Images Teams, Asian Le Mans Series